Way of the Cross (Also called Stations of the Cross)

Way of the Cross......

Way of the Cross (Also called Stations of the Cross, Via Crucis, and Via Dolorosa). These names are used to signify either a series of pictures or tableaux representing certain scenes in the Passion of Christ, each corresponding to a particular incident, or the special form of devotion connected with such representations.

Taken in the former sense, the Stations may be of stone, wood, or metal, sculptured or carved, or they may be merely paintings or engravings. Some Stations are valuable works of art, as those, for instance, in Antwerp cathedral, which have been much copied elsewhere. They are usually ranged at intervals around the walls of a church, though sometimes they are to be found in the open air, especially on roads leading to a church or shrine. In monasteries they are often placed in the cloisters. The erection and use of the Stations did not become at all general before the end of the seventeenth century, but they are now to be found in almost every church. Formerly their number varied considerably in different places but fourteen are now prescribed by authority. They are as follows:

1.Christ condemned to death;

2.the cross is laid upon him;

3.His first fall;

4.He meets His Blessed Mother;

5.Simon of Cyrene is made to bear the cross;

6.Christ's face is wiped by Veronica;

7.His second fall;

8.He meets the women of Jerusalem;

9.His third fall;

10.He is stripped of His garments;

11.His crucifixion;

12.His death on the cross;

13.His body is taken down from the cross; and

14.laid in the tomb.

© 2023 Duns Scotus Bible Centre. All rights reserved